Pinning for Life: Turban Headbands

This is another useful, yet girly blog about something I made from Pinterest. For the girls out there who love to wear their hair up (or even down), this is a great idea to get rid of one of your old T-Shirts that do not fit anymore without having to just throw it away! I’ve seen people wear turban headbands, but they’re expensive to buy. So if you go in your closet grab an old T-Shirt, a measuring tape, scissors, and a pencil (if you would like to make marks on the T-Shirt to help you cut) you can easily make one! This tutorial that I found on Pinterest gives great step by step instructions on how to make your own.  It even shows pictures, so if you’re a visual person  like me you can see what they are talking about.  If you’re wanting to make one for a child that’s not a problem it even gives you directions on how to cut your T-Shirt to make one for child/baby! I personally made three of these headbands in about 20 minutes time.  It took me a minute to completely figure out what I was doing, but once you figure it out it’s easy as pie! Just follow these step by step instructions that I found from that tutorial:

  • Cut 18-19 inches in width for an adult headband (14 for a child)
  • Next cut two more strips 3 inches wide
  • Make a plus sign with your strips (it’s best to make the vertical piece on top)
  • After that take the right side of bottom piece then place it over to the side
  • Grab the other part of the bottom piece then cross and place that piece on top
  • Make sure to pull the two ends apart from each other
  • Next put your hand through the bottom piece the grab the top piece (then repeat on the other side)
  • Fold the left over the right (once again repeat)
  • Pull the top piece inside the bottom piece
  • Lastly make sure to straighten everything up (helps it to lay flat)

You should see a knot in the middle of your headband.  I’m sorry I don’t have to step by step pictures, but click on the tutorial link above and it will show you the step by step process to making the turban headband! After you complete all that you’re ready to go lay out by the (or the beach) and have a lazy day! Check out the awkward photo I have of myself in the pink headband I made from a tank top.  I love mine and wear it almost everyday! I’m sorry it’s blurry…I cropped the picture so you could see the headband more.IMG_1248

 

Leave a Reply

